Lawful

  • Halal Food Laws

  • Importance of Halal Diet

    In a Hadith Prophet Muhammad (Peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) is reported to have said:
    Search for Halal (i.e. food) is also Fardh (obligatory) along with other Fardh things from Allah.  (Mishkat Sharif)

    Here are a few important verses from the Holy Quran that very clearly state the importance of Halal diet.

    1. O Mankind ! Eat the lawful (Halal) and good things from what is in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. Surely he is an open enemy to you.  (2: 168)
    2. O believers ! Eat of the good things that We have provided you with and give thanks to Allah.   (2: 172)
    3. He has forbidden you what dies of itself (carrion), and blood, and the flesh of swine and that over which any name other than (that of) Allah has been invoked.  (2: 173)
    4. And eat of the lawful (Halaal) and good things that Allah has given you and keep your duty to Allah.  (5: 88)
    5. O believers ! Intoxicants, and game of chance, and idolatrous practices and divining (of the future through) arrows are abominations devised by the Satan. Shun it then !, so that you may prosper.  (5: 90)

    Our beloved Prophet (Peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) has taught us to be very careful about our food in terms of Halal and Haram. His sayings indicate that Haram food makes our Faith terminally damaged and our soul extremely weak. Here are a selection of meanings and extracts of his sayings:

    1. A person after travelling a long distance, with dispersed hairs and covered with dust, raises his hands for the prayer and says O Allah !, O Allah! But his food is Haram, his drink is Haram and his dress is Haram. So how can his prayer be accepted by Allah ? (Mishkat Sharif)
      Note : It means that without Halal food our Duas are not accepted at all.
    2. Sadaqah (charity) from Haram wealth is not accepted by Allah, and there is no Barakah (Blessing of Allah) in such things and the Haram wealth will take one to Hell.  (Imam Ahmed)
    3. Those persons whose bodies are nourished with Haram food will not enter paradise.  (Mishkat Sharif)
    4. When Haram is mixed with Halaal, it ruins the Halal as well.  (Mishkat Sharif)
    5. Salah (Ritual Prayers) of a person with Haram clothes is not accepted by Allah.  (Mishkat Sharif)
    6. One who drinks alcohol (e.g. Wine, Beer etc.), Allah does not accept that persons Salah for forty days. (Tirmidhi)

    Note: Muslim scholars say that whether a person takes alcohol directly or indirectly with other edible things in the form of an ingredient, his/her Salah is barred from acceptance for 40 days in the light of this Hadith.

  • Is Vinegar Halal?

    Yes all vinegars are Halaal except those made from grapes or grape wine according to most Sunni scholars. As Khamr which is grape wine has been declared Haraam in the holy Quran and the Hadith.

  • What is Halal?

    Halal
    Halal means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims. Most food and drinks are considered Halal unless they are stated clearly in the Quran (Holy book of Islam) and Hadith (Prophetic sayings) as forbidden or non-Halaal.

    Haram
    It means prohibited, not allowed, unlawful, illegal. It is opposite of Halal.
    Examples of Haram include the meat of dead animals and birds, flesh of swine, intoxicating drugs and alcoholic beverages.

    Mashbooh
    Any food or drink which one cannot determine  if it is Halal or Haram due to insufficient information, unreliable evidence etc. is categorised as Mashbooh. One example of a Mashbooh product is Whey powder. Rennet is used in the manufacture of Whey Powder. Rennet can be derived from animal rennet as well as non-animal rennet. If it is derived from pigs or animals that are not slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic law them it will be Haram. If the source of rennet is not known then it will be classified as Mashbooh. According to the following Hadith, Muslims must not consume anything which is Mashbooh.

     “Halal (Lawful) is clear and Haram (unlawful) is clear; in between the two are doubtful things, which people may not know whether they are Halal or Haram. One who avoids them in order to safeguard his religion and his honour is safe. Anyone who gets involved in these doubtful things may fall into the Haram (unlawful). This is similar to one who grazes his animals near a Hima*; it is quite likely that his animals will stray into it. Indeed, every King has a Hima and Hima for Allah is what He has prohibited”    (Al-Bukhari, Muslim)

    *Hima - the grounds reserved for animals belonging to the King which are prohibited for other animals

  • What is Halal?

    Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims.
    For a Food product to be Halal, it must be free from any product or by-product derived from all of the following.

    • Pig or Dog
    • Blood
    • Part or by-product of human body e.g.  human hair in L-Cysteine
    • Carnivorous animals
    • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
    • Reptiles and insects
    • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
    • Any marine animals except fish
    • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
    • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
    • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.)  which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
    • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
    • Food Products contaminated with any of the above
  • What is Halal?

    Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims.
    For a Food product to be Halal, it must be free from any product or by-product derived from all of the following.

    • Pig or Dog
    • Blood
    • Part or by-product of human body e.g.  human hair in L-Cysteine
    • Carnivorous animals
    • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
    • Reptiles and insects
    • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
    • Any marine animals except fish
    • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
    • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
    • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.)  which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
    • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
    • Food Products contaminated with any of the above