What is halal?

  • Halal Food Laws

  • Is Cheese Halal?

    Cheese is made by coagulating or clotting milk. This is achieved by first acidifying the milk with a bacterial culture and then adding rennet, an enzyme, to coagulate the milk, separating it into curds, the solid and liquid (whey) products.  There are hundreds of types of cheeses related to different flavours, different types of milks, different types of processes involved, different consistency etc soft, hard.

     If cheese is made from rennet of pig or animal which has not been slaughtered in the Islamic way or from genetically modified rennet from a similar animal then it will not be Halal.

  • Is L-Cysteine Halal?

    L-Cysteine a naturally occurring amino acid that is classified as a protein amino acid. It is found in most high protein food. L-Cysteine is mainly used in bakery, pharmaceutical and personal care products.

    L-Cysteine is obtained industrially by hydrolysis of human hair, feathers or synthetically.  There two major manufacturers of L-Cysteine are:

    1. Wacker Chemie of Germany - L-Cysteiene made by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced.
    2. Ajinomonto Company - L-Cysteine made by synthetic method.

    The L-Cysteine made sythetically or bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced will be Halal.

  • Is Vegetarian Halal?

    There are 2 types of vegetarian products available on the market
    1.    Approved by the Vegetarian Society
    2.    Suitable for vegetarians

    1. Approved by the Vegetarian Society
    The Vegetarian Society checks and approves products that meet its conditions and these products display the vegetarian society logo and also state that the product is approved by the Society. These products are free from meat products but may contain alcohol, as it is permissible for vegetarians. There is a possibility that alcohol may be part of flavouring, flavour enhancer, processing aid etc. And this alcohol may not be declared on the ingredients list.

    2. Suitable for vegetarian
    Manufacturers themselves decide that their products are suitable for vegetarians. But these have not been approved by the Vegetarian Society. During our investigations some such products have found to contain animal products in their sub-ingredients. In addition these products may contain alcohol in the flavourings, flavour enhancers, processing aids etc. which may not be listed in the ingredients list.

    Therefore it is not necessary that vegetarian products are always Halal.

    Halal consumers must insist that manufacturers have their products Halal certified as this is the only means to guarantee products are totally Halal.

  • Is Vinegar Halal?

    Yes all vinegars are Halaal except those made from grapes or grape wine according to most Sunni scholars. As Khamr which is grape wine has been declared Haraam in the holy Quran and the Hadith.

  • Is Whey Powder Halal?

    Whey powder is made from drying Whey or liquid plasma. This is the liquid that remains behind in the cheese making process after milk has been curdled by the addition of rennet and strained. Whey made using rennet derived from pig or calf which has not been slaughtered islamically will not be Halal. Whey made using rennet derived from fungi, plants, micro organisms will be Halal.

    One must check with the manufacturer of the whey powder to find out the source of rennet.

  • Our Services

    We pride ourselves in the services we provide to our clients whether you’re a multinational corporation or a member of the public. We aim to assist your needs.

    We provide HalalCertification of food, cosmetics and pharmaceuticals products.  Apply for Halal Certification

     

  • What is Halal?

    Halal
    Halal means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims. Most food and drinks are considered Halal unless they are stated clearly in the Quran (Holy book of Islam) and Hadith (Prophetic sayings) as forbidden or non-Halaal.

    Haram
    It means prohibited, not allowed, unlawful, illegal. It is opposite of Halal.
    Examples of Haram include the meat of dead animals and birds, flesh of swine, intoxicating drugs and alcoholic beverages.

    Mashbooh
    Any food or drink which one cannot determine  if it is Halal or Haram due to insufficient information, unreliable evidence etc. is categorised as Mashbooh. One example of a Mashbooh product is Whey powder. Rennet is used in the manufacture of Whey Powder. Rennet can be derived from animal rennet as well as non-animal rennet. If it is derived from pigs or animals that are not slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic law them it will be Haram. If the source of rennet is not known then it will be classified as Mashbooh. According to the following Hadith, Muslims must not consume anything which is Mashbooh.

     “Halal (Lawful) is clear and Haram (unlawful) is clear; in between the two are doubtful things, which people may not know whether they are Halal or Haram. One who avoids them in order to safeguard his religion and his honour is safe. Anyone who gets involved in these doubtful things may fall into the Haram (unlawful). This is similar to one who grazes his animals near a Hima*; it is quite likely that his animals will stray into it. Indeed, every King has a Hima and Hima for Allah is what He has prohibited”    (Al-Bukhari, Muslim)

    *Hima - the grounds reserved for animals belonging to the King which are prohibited for other animals

  • What is Halal?

    Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims.
    For a Food product to be Halal, it must be free from any product or by-product derived from all of the following.

    • Pig or Dog
    • Blood
    • Part or by-product of human body e.g.  human hair in L-Cysteine
    • Carnivorous animals
    • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
    • Reptiles and insects
    • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
    • Any marine animals except fish
    • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
    • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
    • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.)  which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
    • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
    • Food Products contaminated with any of the above
  • What is Halal?

    Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims.
    For a Food product to be Halal, it must be free from any product or by-product derived from all of the following.

    • Pig or Dog
    • Blood
    • Part or by-product of human body e.g.  human hair in L-Cysteine
    • Carnivorous animals
    • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
    • Reptiles and insects
    • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
    • Any marine animals except fish
    • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
    • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
    • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.)  which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
    • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
    • Food Products contaminated with any of the above