Halal

  • About Us

     

    Halal Certification Europe (HCE) is an independent non-profit making organisation. It was established to formalise the investigation and Halal certification of food, cosmetics and pharmaceutical products.

     

    HCE aims to:

    To assist food manufacturers in producing Halal products by:

    • Certification of food, cosmetics and pharmaceutical products
    • Permitting the use of our halal logo on certified products
    • Monitoring halal certified products

    To promote Halal products through:

    • Research into products to determine their suitability for halal use
    • Inform consumers about halal status of products and services
    • Answer queries from individuals regarding halal suitability of products

     The HCE team strive to set and maintain the highest standards and stringent controls within our certification process, to ensure that the products certified by us are truly Halal compliant

    We guarantee an authentic and credible certification executed by our experienced team of technical advisors.

  • About US

     

    Halal Certification Europe (HCE) is an independent non-profit making organisation. It was established to formalise the investigation and Halal certification of food, cosmetics and pharmaceutical products.

     

    HCE aims to:

    To assist food manufacturers in producing Halal products by:

    • Certification of food, cosmetics and pharmaceutical products
    • Permitting the use of our halal logo on certified products
    • Monitoring halal certified products

    To promote Halal products through:

    • Research into products to determine their suitability for halal use
    • Inform consumers about halal status of products and services
    • Answer queries from individuals regarding halal suitability of products

     The HCE team strive to set and maintain the highest standards and stringent controls within our certification process, to ensure that the products certified by us are truly Halal compliant

    We guarantee an authentic and credible certification executed by our experienced team of technical advisors.

  • Halal Certification Process

    Halal Certification Application
    •    Apply online using the ‘Online Halal Certification Application Form’.
    •    Application form submitted
    •    Quotation provided   
    •    Certification Agreement to be signed
    •    All documents and applications to be sent

    Evaluation Activities
    •    Detailed vetting of documents and additional information
    •    On-site audit to ensure compliance with Halal standards
    •    Laboratory testing of products when necessary

    Halal Certification
    •    Halal certification status letter sent after certification decision committee has evaluated application.
    •    Halal Certificate issued for approved products only
    •    The overall certification period will last for three years.
    •    Maintenance of certificate issuing will be subject to satisfactory surveillance audit, after the initial certification period.
    •    Decisions for granting, maintaining, extending, reducing scope, suspending or withdrawal of certification will be based on conformance to HCE Halal Standards.

    Suspension or Withdrawal of Certification
    •    HCE has the right to suspend or withdraw a Halal Certificate. Reasons for suspension or withdrawal include:
    •    Improper use of reference to HCE or improper use of the Halal logo
    •    Failure to meet requirements of Halal standard
    •    Failure to comply with the contractual agreement

  • Halal Food Laws

  • Importance of Halal Diet

    In a Hadith Prophet Muhammad (Peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) is reported to have said:
    Search for Halal (i.e. food) is also Fardh (obligatory) along with other Fardh things from Allah.  (Mishkat Sharif)

    Here are a few important verses from the Holy Quran that very clearly state the importance of Halal diet.

    1. O Mankind ! Eat the lawful (Halal) and good things from what is in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. Surely he is an open enemy to you.  (2: 168)
    2. O believers ! Eat of the good things that We have provided you with and give thanks to Allah.   (2: 172)
    3. He has forbidden you what dies of itself (carrion), and blood, and the flesh of swine and that over which any name other than (that of) Allah has been invoked.  (2: 173)
    4. And eat of the lawful (Halaal) and good things that Allah has given you and keep your duty to Allah.  (5: 88)
    5. O believers ! Intoxicants, and game of chance, and idolatrous practices and divining (of the future through) arrows are abominations devised by the Satan. Shun it then !, so that you may prosper.  (5: 90)

    Our beloved Prophet (Peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) has taught us to be very careful about our food in terms of Halal and Haram. His sayings indicate that Haram food makes our Faith terminally damaged and our soul extremely weak. Here are a selection of meanings and extracts of his sayings:

    1. A person after travelling a long distance, with dispersed hairs and covered with dust, raises his hands for the prayer and says O Allah !, O Allah! But his food is Haram, his drink is Haram and his dress is Haram. So how can his prayer be accepted by Allah ? (Mishkat Sharif)
      Note : It means that without Halal food our Duas are not accepted at all.
    2. Sadaqah (charity) from Haram wealth is not accepted by Allah, and there is no Barakah (Blessing of Allah) in such things and the Haram wealth will take one to Hell.  (Imam Ahmed)
    3. Those persons whose bodies are nourished with Haram food will not enter paradise.  (Mishkat Sharif)
    4. When Haram is mixed with Halaal, it ruins the Halal as well.  (Mishkat Sharif)
    5. Salah (Ritual Prayers) of a person with Haram clothes is not accepted by Allah.  (Mishkat Sharif)
    6. One who drinks alcohol (e.g. Wine, Beer etc.), Allah does not accept that persons Salah for forty days. (Tirmidhi)

    Note: Muslim scholars say that whether a person takes alcohol directly or indirectly with other edible things in the form of an ingredient, his/her Salah is barred from acceptance for 40 days in the light of this Hadith.

  • Is Cheese Halal?

    Cheese is made by coagulating or clotting milk. This is achieved by first acidifying the milk with a bacterial culture and then adding rennet, an enzyme, to coagulate the milk, separating it into curds, the solid and liquid (whey) products.  There are hundreds of types of cheeses related to different flavours, different types of milks, different types of processes involved, different consistency etc soft, hard.

     If cheese is made from rennet of pig or animal which has not been slaughtered in the Islamic way or from genetically modified rennet from a similar animal then it will not be Halal.

  • Is L-Cysteine Halal?

    L-Cysteine a naturally occurring amino acid that is classified as a protein amino acid. It is found in most high protein food. L-Cysteine is mainly used in bakery, pharmaceutical and personal care products.

    L-Cysteine is obtained industrially by hydrolysis of human hair, feathers or synthetically.  There two major manufacturers of L-Cysteine are:

    1. Wacker Chemie of Germany - L-Cysteiene made by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced.
    2. Ajinomonto Company - L-Cysteine made by synthetic method.

    The L-Cysteine made sythetically or bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced will be Halal.

  • Is Vegetarian Halal?

    There are 2 types of vegetarian products available on the market
    1.    Approved by the Vegetarian Society
    2.    Suitable for vegetarians

    1. Approved by the Vegetarian Society
    The Vegetarian Society checks and approves products that meet its conditions and these products display the vegetarian society logo and also state that the product is approved by the Society. These products are free from meat products but may contain alcohol, as it is permissible for vegetarians. There is a possibility that alcohol may be part of flavouring, flavour enhancer, processing aid etc. And this alcohol may not be declared on the ingredients list.

    2. Suitable for vegetarian
    Manufacturers themselves decide that their products are suitable for vegetarians. But these have not been approved by the Vegetarian Society. During our investigations some such products have found to contain animal products in their sub-ingredients. In addition these products may contain alcohol in the flavourings, flavour enhancers, processing aids etc. which may not be listed in the ingredients list.

    Therefore it is not necessary that vegetarian products are always Halal.

    Halal consumers must insist that manufacturers have their products Halal certified as this is the only means to guarantee products are totally Halal.

  • Is Vinegar Halal?

    Yes all vinegars are Halaal except those made from grapes or grape wine according to most Sunni scholars. As Khamr which is grape wine has been declared Haraam in the holy Quran and the Hadith.

  • Is Whey Powder Halal?

    Whey powder is made from drying Whey or liquid plasma. This is the liquid that remains behind in the cheese making process after milk has been curdled by the addition of rennet and strained. Whey made using rennet derived from pig or calf which has not been slaughtered islamically will not be Halal. Whey made using rennet derived from fungi, plants, micro organisms will be Halal.

    One must check with the manufacturer of the whey powder to find out the source of rennet.

  • Our Services

    We pride ourselves in the services we provide to our clients whether you’re a multinational corporation or a member of the public. We aim to assist your needs.

    We provide HalalCertification of food, cosmetics and pharmaceuticals products.  Apply for Halal Certification

     

  • What is Halal?

    Halal
    Halal means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims. Most food and drinks are considered Halal unless they are stated clearly in the Quran (Holy book of Islam) and Hadith (Prophetic sayings) as forbidden or non-Halaal.

    Haram
    It means prohibited, not allowed, unlawful, illegal. It is opposite of Halal.
    Examples of Haram include the meat of dead animals and birds, flesh of swine, intoxicating drugs and alcoholic beverages.

    Mashbooh
    Any food or drink which one cannot determine  if it is Halal or Haram due to insufficient information, unreliable evidence etc. is categorised as Mashbooh. One example of a Mashbooh product is Whey powder. Rennet is used in the manufacture of Whey Powder. Rennet can be derived from animal rennet as well as non-animal rennet. If it is derived from pigs or animals that are not slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic law them it will be Haram. If the source of rennet is not known then it will be classified as Mashbooh. According to the following Hadith, Muslims must not consume anything which is Mashbooh.

     “Halal (Lawful) is clear and Haram (unlawful) is clear; in between the two are doubtful things, which people may not know whether they are Halal or Haram. One who avoids them in order to safeguard his religion and his honour is safe. Anyone who gets involved in these doubtful things may fall into the Haram (unlawful). This is similar to one who grazes his animals near a Hima*; it is quite likely that his animals will stray into it. Indeed, every King has a Hima and Hima for Allah is what He has prohibited”    (Al-Bukhari, Muslim)

    *Hima - the grounds reserved for animals belonging to the King which are prohibited for other animals

  • What is Halal?

    Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims.
    For a Food product to be Halal, it must be free from any product or by-product derived from all of the following.

    • Pig or Dog
    • Blood
    • Part or by-product of human body e.g.  human hair in L-Cysteine
    • Carnivorous animals
    • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
    • Reptiles and insects
    • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
    • Any marine animals except fish
    • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
    • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
    • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.)  which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
    • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
    • Food Products contaminated with any of the above
  • What is Halal?

    Halal is an Arabic word which means permitted, allowed, lawful or legal. In relation to food or drink it means that the food or drink is lawful, permitted or allowed for Muslims.
    For a Food product to be Halal, it must be free from any product or by-product derived from all of the following.

    • Pig or Dog
    • Blood
    • Part or by-product of human body e.g.  human hair in L-Cysteine
    • Carnivorous animals
    • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
    • Reptiles and insects
    • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
    • Any marine animals except fish
    • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
    • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
    • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.)  which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
    • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
    • Food Products contaminated with any of the above