Is L-Cysteine Halal?

L-Cysteine a naturally occurring amino acid that is classified as a protein amino acid. It is found in most high protein food. L-Cysteine is mainly used in bakery, pharmaceutical and personal care products.

L-Cysteine is obtained industrially by hydrolysis of human hair, feathers or synthetically.  There two major manufacturers of L-Cysteine are:

  1. Wacker Chemie of Germany - L-Cysteiene made by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced.
  2. Ajinomonto Company - L-Cysteine made by synthetic method.

The L-Cysteine made sythetically or bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced will be Halal.